6th Annual Spring Benefit:

Celebrating Food Heroes
Click for Tickets


6th Annual Spring Benefit: Food Heroes

Wednesday, April 29, 2020

The Metropolitan Club

On Wednesday, April 29, 2020 Spoons Across America will host its 6th Annual Spring Benefit: Food Heroes, an awe-inspiring evening celebrating the best of the culinary world and supporting children’s food literacy education.

The highlight of the evening will be the presentation of the Spoons Across America Award for Excellence to Ming Tsai, by our National Spokesperson, Jacques Pépin (the first recipient of our Award for Excellence)  for his dedication to “food exploration” and commitment to children’s food literacy and nutrition education.

The Award for Excellence was created to honor the extraordinary careers of individuals working in the Culinary Arts, and to acknowledge their commitment to promoting healthy eating, access to quality food, and creative culinary and nutrition-based educational programming.

The 6th Annual Spring Benefit will be Co-Chaired by Jeff Bank and Katherine Gage Boulud, two individuals who are deeply committed to improving children’s relationship with food.

The Benefit will include a live auction with one-of-a-kind celebrity experiences and a silent auction. Last year’s auctions featured dinner with Jacques Pépin, Dinner at Mar at The Mercado with Andrew Zimmern, a private dinner at De Gustibus Cooking School hosted by Matt Abdoo and Shane McBride of Brooklyn’s famous Pig Beach, Original artwork by Jacques Pépin, and a private dinner in your home by world-famous Daniel Boulud’s  Restaurant Daniel Chez Vous.

Tickets now available

For more information about sponsorship opportunities, contact Gerald Prosser at Gerald@spoonsacrossamerica.org.

Prior Award for Excellence honorees are:

2015 Individual Honoree – Chef Jacques Pépin

2016 Individual Honoree – Gail Simmons

2016 Corporate Honoree – New York Times Food Section (Sam Sifton)

2017 Individual Honoree – Rachael Ray

2017 Corporate Honoree – Ferguson Enterprises

2018 Individual Honoree – Andrew Zimmern

2019 Individual Honoree – José Andrés

Prior Julia V. Jordan Award for Volunteerism honorees are:

2018 Honoree – Robert “Chef Bobo” Surles

2019 Honoree – Diane Harris Brown


6th Annual Spring Benefit Committee


Jeff Bank • Katherine Boulud

Benefit Committee

Douglas B. Adler • LA Adler • Diane Harris Brown • Marisa Colaneri • David Curtis

Olga D’Alto • Lynda Dias • David Finkel • Emily Kamenitzer

Richard Mandell • Evan Merlis • Rachelle Parker • Salvatore Rizzo

Andrea Sherman • Bill Yosses